NOTES: This Jacobean house on the site of, and incorporating the ruins of, a Norman castle dates from 1616. Its unique character was given by the hexagonal shaped plan with a central courtyard which echoed the octagonal plan of the keep. Brandon altered the house in 1861-1863 and then in the 1920s Sir Herbert Baker was to restore the house, removing much of Brandon's work.
NOTES: Montpellier Spa Long Room and colonnade were built in 1817 to designs by George Allen Underwood and in 1825-1826 J. B. Papworth added the Rotunda, inspired by the Pantheon in Rome. Today the Montpellier Rotunda is a bank.
SOURCE: J. C. Palmes (ed.). Sir Banister Fletcher's A History of architecture, 18th ed. (London: Athlone Press, 1975), p. NOTES: A) timber house, Erfurt; B) stone screen, Oberwesel; C) house, Hildesheim; D) Holy Well, Ratisbon Cathedral; E) choir, Halberstadt Cathedral; F) south porch, St. Lawrence, Nuremberg; G) porch, Erfurt Cathedral; H) W. portal, St. Elizabeth, Marburg; J) choir, Erfurt Cathedral
NOTES: Buscot was a model village designed by George & Peto for the owner of Buscot Park, Alexander Henderson, a financier, engineer and amateur painter, who was created Baron Faringdon in 1916. The village included cottages, a forge and a community room (parish hall). The village was laid out between 1892-1897.