Welcome to RIBApix!
You have no items in your basket.

Subject Search

View as Grid List
Sort by

Hubertus House, Amsterdam

Eyck, Aldo van (1918-1999)
NOTES: Also known as the 'Mothers' House' (Moederhuis), it provides accommodation for single mothers and their chidren.

Sir Raymond Unwin

Unwin, Sir Raymond (1863-1940)

William Burges

Burges, William (1827-1881)

Anthony Salvin

Salvin, Anthony (1799-1881)
NOTES: Salvin is seen here around the time he was awarded the RIBA's Royal Gold Medal in 1863.

Penguin Pool, London Zoo, Regent's Park, London

Lubetkin Drake & Tecton
NOTES: This was Tecton's second commission for the Royal Zoological Society, the site consisting of a series of derelict ponds and a paddock. A dramatic design was needed to show off the antics of the penguins and this was achieved by two cantilevered ramps spiralling around one another without any intermediate support. The surrounding trees were kept and a cover provided around part of the elliptical structure to protect the penguins from the sun. The flat paths were coated with plastic rubber, the steps were of slate and the concrete ramps were kept wet by a revolving fountain. The structure was allowed under a clause in the London Building Act which exempted from the regulations buildings under a certain size which were not destined for human habitation and which were more than 30 ft from any other building. The pool had been allowed to fall into a state of disrepair after the Royal Zoological Society encountered strong opposition to its plans for major alterations in 1951. The pool was listed in 1970 and restored in 1988. The executive architects were Lubetkin and Drake.

House at Bentley Wood, Halland, East Sussex

Chermayeff, Serge (1900-1996)

Joldwynds, Holmbury St Mary, Surrey

Hill, Oliver (1887-1968)

Joldwynds, Holmbury St Mary, Surrey

Hill, Oliver (1887-1968)

Trades Union Congress Memorial Building, Great Russell Street, London

Aberdeen, David du Rieu (1913-1987)
NOTES: The building was awarded the RIBA Bronze Medal London Architecture Award for 1958. The statue on the plinth is the Spirit of Brotherhood by Bernard Meadows.