Welcome to RIBApix!
You have no items in your basket.


View as Grid List
Sort by

Linford Wood Business Centre, Milton Keynes, Buckinghamshire

Michael Aukett Associates
NOTES: One of six pavilions in a newly created business park, it woin a commendation in the Financial Times Architecture at Work Award, 1984.

West Building Office block, Milton Keynes railway station, Milton Keynes, Buckinghamshire, nearing completion

Milton Keynes Development Corporation. Architects Department
NOTES: Built using a high performance reflective solar contral glass called 'Vari-Tran', creating a complete curtain wall to cover the whole construction.

Office building, Central Plaza North, Milton Keynes, Buckinghamshire

Milton Keynes Development Corporation. Architects Department

Warehouse, Hodder & Stoughton publishers, Sevenoaks

TRIAD architects planners

Wimpole Hall, Cambridgeshire: the book room fireplace

Gibbs, James (1682-1754)
NOTES: The house dates originally from c. 1640, when it was begun and possibly designed by its owner Sir Thomas Chicheley. It subsequently underwent many alterations. From 1693-1710 a detached orangery to the rear and a service wing were added. From 1713 James Gibbs added wings and library to the north-west. In 1742-1745 the central block was reroofed and the elevations reconstructed by the architect Henry Flitcroft. Another wing was added on the garden side to balance the library. Between 1791-1806 the interiors were remodelled by John Soane The last phase was the extension of the east and west wings by H. E. Kendall (senior) in 1842 (largely demolished in 1953). The house was bequeathed to the National Trust in 1976. The book room, as it was known, was created in 1806 by enlarging Gibb's old ante-library into one bay of the adjoining orangery. See RIBA158775 for a colour version of this image.

Law Courts, Gothenburg, seen from the canal

Asplund, Erik Gunnar (1885-1940)
NOTES: The original law courts were built in 1672 by Nicodemus Tessin, but were rebuilt after a fire in 1732. In 1814-1817 an upper storey was added and the facade reworked by C. W. Carlberg. Later in the 19th century wings were added to the north and west, creating a central courtyard and the adjacent Commandant's House was taken over in1880 for use as offices. Asplund won a competition to redesign the courts in 1913, which was finally completed in 1937. See RIBA159225 for a colour version of this image.