A recurrent theme in Eric de Maré’s work is his interest in inland waterways, in particular the Thames. His concern for the built environment also extended to the natural environment and in 1950 (The Architectural Review: 'The Thames as a Linear National Park', July 1950) he advocated that the Thames between Cricklade and Teddington be designated a ‘linear national park’ to protect it from uncontrolled development. He continued his exploration of the Thames with the publication of 'Time on the Thames' (1952).
NOTES: The original lock was built in 1632 and the Thames Navigation Commission replaced this in 1793. This bridge carries the towpath over the entrance to the rollers which allow punts and rowing boats to move between the water levels.
NOTES: The island, located a mile and a half downstream from the town of Henley, marks the Start of the Henley Royal Regatta Course. The Temple, built in 1771, is a folly designed by James Wyatt as a fishing lodge for Fawley Court, the mansion on the Henley Reach designed by Wren. Temple Island is situated a mile and a half downstream of the picturesque market town of Henley, on one of the most beautiful reaches of the River Thames. Located amidst rolling water meadows and surrounded by wooded hills, it marks the Start of the famous Henley Royal Regatta Course. The Temple itself is a delightful folly,, from which the Temple completed a charming prospect through an avenue of trees.