Cruising along the River Thames towards Temple Island downstream from Henley-on-Thames
|Architect/Designer||Wyatt, James (1746-1813)|
|Artist/Photographer||de Mare, Eric (1910-2002)|
|Library Reference||AP Box 843 Eric de Mare|
|Colour Info||Black and white|
|Credit||Eric de Mare / RIBA Collections|
|Subject||Follies ; Domes ; Riverside buildings ; Eric de Maré: Time on the Thames ; Rivers ; Boats ; Columns|
NOTES: The island, located a mile and a half downstream from the town of Henley, marks the Start of the Henley Royal Regatta Course. The Temple, built in 1771, is a folly designed by James Wyatt as a fishing lodge for Fawley Court, the mansion on the Henley Reach designed by Wren. Temple Island is situated a mile and a half downstream of the picturesque market town of Henley, on one of the most beautiful reaches of the River Thames. Located amidst rolling water meadows and surrounded by wooded hills, it marks the Start of the famous Henley Royal Regatta Course. The Temple itself is a delightful folly,, from which the Temple completed a charming prospect through an avenue of trees.
Please describe how you will use the image including publication or exhibition title.