NOTES: Thomas Telford was initially engaged by the King of Sweden to oversee the building of the canal which began in 1810 and was officially inaugurated in 1832. Nils Ericson was appointed leader of the canal project in 1824.
NOTES: The Oxford Canal begins at Hawkesbury Junction where it meets the Coventry Canal and ends in central Oxford. Engineered by James Brindley and completed after his death by his assistant, Samuel Simmock, work on the canal began in the Coventry basin in 1769 and was completed at the Oxford end in 1790.
NOTES: Engineered by James Brindley and completed after his death by his assistant, Samuel Simcock, the Coventry Canal was constructed from 1768 to 1790. Its connection with the Oxford Canal at Hawkesbury Junction was made in 1836. The bridge was cast at the Britannia Foundry in Derby, and was erected for the Coventry Canal Company in 1837.
NOTES: The original lock was built in 1632 and the Thames Navigation Commission replaced this in 1793. This bridge carries the towpath over the entrance to the rollers which allow punts and rowing boats to move between the water levels.
NOTES: Margam Steel Works, originally and colloquially known as the "Abbey Works", was a modern integrated steelworks which began production in 1953, although most of the works had been built by 1951. This is one of the two new furnaces built in the 1950s. Once the new number 4 and 5 furnaces began production, the older furnaces, numbers 1 and 2 built in the 1920s, were demolished. The number 3 furnace, built in 1941, was retained as a stand-by.
NOTES: The island, located a mile and a half downstream from the town of Henley, marks the Start of the Henley Royal Regatta Course. The Temple, built in 1771, is a folly designed by James Wyatt as a fishing lodge for Fawley Court, the mansion on the Henley Reach designed by Wren. Temple Island is situated a mile and a half downstream of the picturesque market town of Henley, on one of the most beautiful reaches of the River Thames. Located amidst rolling water meadows and surrounded by wooded hills, it marks the Start of the famous Henley Royal Regatta Course. The Temple itself is a delightful folly,, from which the Temple completed a charming prospect through an avenue of trees.