Welcome to RIBApix!
You have no items in your basket.

Architectural Photographers

View as Grid List
Sort by

Stone bridge at Iffley Lock, River Thames, Iffley, Oxfordshire

NOTES: The original lock was built in 1632 and the Thames Navigation Commission replaced this in 1793. This bridge carries the towpath over the entrance to the rollers which allow punts and rowing boats to move between the water levels.

Margam Steel Works (Abbey Works) for The Steel Company of Wales Limited, Port Talbot, West Glamorgan: the number 5 blast furnace

NOTES: Margam Steel Works, originally and colloquially known as the "Abbey Works", was a modern integrated steelworks which began production in 1953, although most of the works had been built by 1951. This is one of the two new furnaces built in the 1950s. Once the new number 4 and 5 furnaces began production, the older furnaces, numbers 1 and 2 built in the 1920s, were demolished. The number 3 furnace, built in 1941, was retained as a stand-by.

Cruising along the River Thames towards Temple Island downstream from Henley-on-Thames

Wyatt, James (1746-1813)
NOTES: The island, located a mile and a half downstream from the town of Henley, marks the Start of the Henley Royal Regatta Course. The Temple, built in 1771, is a folly designed by James Wyatt as a fishing lodge for Fawley Court, the mansion on the Henley Reach designed by Wren. Temple Island is situated a mile and a half downstream of the picturesque market town of Henley, on one of the most beautiful reaches of the River Thames. Located amidst rolling water meadows and surrounded by wooded hills, it marks the Start of the famous Henley Royal Regatta Course. The Temple itself is a delightful folly,, from which the Temple completed a charming prospect through an avenue of trees.

Second phase of the south-west housing section, New Passfield Way, Peterlee

Marsden, A. T. W.
NOTES: Peterlee New Town in County Durham was founded in 1948 and the Peterlee Development Corporation, established that year under the direction of A V Williams, was responsible for its development over several decades. Victor Pasmore was head of the design team for landscaping while A T W Marsden was the chief architect and planner for this phase of the development.

Housing, Queensway, Trumpington Road, Cambridge

Cambridge Design
NOTES: This accommodation was built for the Granta Housing Society.

Munstead Wood, Godalming

Lutyens, Sir Edwin Landseer (1869-1944)

Cragside, Rothbury, Northumberland

Shaw, Richard Norman (1831-1912)
NOTES: Cragside was the enlargement of a shooting lodge of 1864 into a large country house. The alterations took place in stages over the period 1869-1885.