Welcome to RIBApix!
You have no items in your basket.

Architectural historians

View as Grid List
Sort by

John Summerson

Summerson, Sir John (1904-1992)

Francesco dal Co

Dal Co, Francesco (1945-)

Sir Nikolaus Pevsner

Pevsner, Sir Nikolaus (1902-1983)

C.I.A.M. Conference, Bridgwater, Somerset: the Mayor of Bridgwater welcoming the members at the Bridgwater Arts Centre: sitting left to right, S. Papadaki, G. Samuel, J. L. Sert, the Mayor, Van Eesteren, Sigfried Giedion and Walter Gropius

Eesteren, Cornelis van (1897-1988)
NOTES: The Congres International d'Architecture Moderne (CIAM), founded in Switzerland in 1928 and disbanded in 1959, was the think tank of the Modern Movement.

Official opening of the Royal Institute of British Architects' Heinz Gallery, 21 Portman Square, London, on May 4, 1972: John Harris, the curator, listens intently to Mrs H J Heinz II, the benefactor

Harris, John (1931-)
NOTES: The Heinz exhibition gallery, designed by Alan Irvine and Stefan Buzas, was located at 21 Portman Square, a house designed by James Adam and built by Samuel Wyatt in 1772. It was home to the RIBA Library Drawings Collection from May 1972 until November 2004 when the Collection was relocated to the Henry Cole Wing at the V&A.

Art Net gallery, 14 West Central Street, Covent Garden, London: Peter Cook (left) and Reyner Banham (centre) in conversation with others

Banham, Peter Reyner (1922-1988)
NOTES: The Art Net gallery was set up by Peter Cook, the co-founder of Archigram, in late 1973 specifically to mount any kind of exhibition which he considered of artistic interest and which would not get a commercial airing. It was originally located in the Archigram studio at 53 Endell Street, Covent Garden and moved to the Studio International building at 14 West Central Street, Bloomsbury, in May 1974.

Colin Rowe

Rowe, Colin (1920-1999)

Sir Banister Flight Fletcher

Fletcher, Sir Banister Flight (1866-1953)
NOTES: Sir Banister Fletcher was President of the RIBA in 1929-1931. This portrait was exhibited at the Royal Academy of Art, London, in 1931 (number 232).