St Andrew's Church, Roker, Sunderland: the chancel and altar
|Architect/Designer||Prior, Edward Schroeder (1852-1932)|
|Wells, A. Randall (1877-1942)|
|Burne-Jones, Sir Edward (1833-1898)|
|Gill, L. MacDonald (1884-1947)|
|Morris & Company Limited|
|Artist/Photographer||Charles, Martin (1940-2012)|
|Style||Arts & Crafts|
|Library Reference||MC K 160494|
|Colour Info||Black and white|
|Credit||Martin Charles / RIBA Collections|
|Subject||Tapestries ; Murals ; Churches|
NOTES: The church was designed by E. S. Prior and A. Randall Wells, who had been Lethaby's Clerk of Works at Brockhampton (1904). Many of the fixtures and fittings are by Ernest Gimson, notably the oak panelled chancel and the oak choir stalls. The ceiling of the chancel wasn't painted until 1927, by Macdonald Gill, restored 1967 by Maurice Partland, the design of its theme is the Creation. The tapestry depicts the visit of the Three Wise Men and is a copy of a painting by Burne-Jone made by Morris & Co for the church. See RIBA155487 for a colour version of this image.
Please describe how you will use the image including publication or exhibition title.